Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

My dear grandma read my previous article, and still asked if it was cold in Stockholm after 2 minutes on the phone. YES, January in Stockholm is cold, every day ! Also, I don’t like to brag, but 2 of my colleagues today told me they had tried my butternut squash soup and liked it. Super happy ! For these two reasons I decided to post another soup-y recipe : shrimps in a coconut milk and tomato sauce. Spicy to keep you warm.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For that indian-thai dish I have used some tropical shrimps. I do not like the nordic ones, they are too small and I don’t like the way they smell, but you can use them instead, I guess. Just peel them off, and fry them in some canola oil (don’t get me wrong, I am a BIG fan of olive oil, but here the taste would just be too strong) with a diced red onion, a few cashewnuts, and 2 smashed cloves of garlic, medium/high heat. Once it gets roasted, pour an equal quantity of tomato coulis and coconut milk. For 15 shrimps I used 300 ml of each. Get back to low/medium heat. Add 4 or 5 little cubes of frozen spinach (I KNOW, it’s better fresh, but at least mine are organic) to thicken the sauce and to say that you did have vegetables for dinner.

Now the spices. One big spoon of : red curry paste (mild), curry madras powder (strong), sweet chili, ginger, soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil. Yes, in total it makes 7 big spoons, but can use the actual same spoon ;) Add to that coriander, fresh is possible, frozen if not, but please not powdered, it does not have any taste, it is just useless, we’re not animals for God’s sake !

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERALet it boil so it thickens a bit, but it still will stay pretty liquid. You can actually add more or less coulis and coconut milk, if you want it to be just a sauce or if you like to drown your rice in it like I do. As well, adjust the spices, some people get red and burn if there is a bit of pepper in their food, some could just eat curry powder directly with a spoon and be like, hmm it’s a bit bland !

If you are clever, you will prepare the rice before you start preparing the shrimps. Otherwise you can just argue with your loved one because his food is ready before yours and you want him to wait for you to have dinner but he does not want to eat cold …

Bisous bisous, et bon appétit ;)

